Monday, July 16, 2007

New parties get election symbols

The Election Commission distributed election symbols to eleven newly registered political parties.According to EC spokesperson Laxman Bhattarai, the Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist have received tree, sun and hammer-and-sickle as election symbols to be used in the coming election of the constituent assembly.Kalash, madal and hand were given as symbols to NC-D, Nepal Workers’ and Peasants’ Party and Nepal Sadbhawana Party-Anandidevi respectively.Glass was given to Jana Morcha Nepal, plough to RPP, umbrella to Rastriya Janashakti Party, sickle to CPN-United and maize was given as symbol to CPN-MLM.“The symbols were given to the parties today as we started the process of formal registration of the parties ,” said Bhattarai.

No comments: