Thursday, February 23, 2006

SC ordered to Reinstate sacked city policemen

Kathmandu, Feb 23- The Supreme Court on wednesday ordered the Ministry of Local Development and the Lalitpur Sub-Metropolitan city to reinstate about two dozen city police personnel sacked by the government as per the directive of the CIAA two years ago.

A division bench of Justices Balram KC and Ramkumar Prasad Shah issued the verdict. The bench also directed the authorities to reinstate them, as their “termination was illegal.”

Those sacked include Ramesh Kumar Maharjan, Subarna Awale, Nabin Shrestha, Subarna Byanjankar, Hari Prasad Ghimire, Bharat Bahadur Nagarkoti, Yudda Man Pahari and Radha Krishna Thapa. Some of them were inspectors and others were assistant sub inspectors of Lalitpur city police.

The SC also ordered the authorities to reinstate Shree Bahadur Maharjan, Purusottam Upadhayay, Sadhu Ram Khatri, Madan Maharjan, Ratna Lal Kapali, Gokarna Prasad Paudel, Dipendra KC, Dan Bahaudr Thapa, Kadam Lal Maharjan, Krishna Kumar Shrestha and Dilip Thapa Chhetri.

Maintaining that their appointments had been in a “wrong manner”, the CIAA had ordered the authorities to sack them two years ago. Immediately after the decision to sack them, those sacked had jointly moved the Supreme Court claiming that the CIAA does not have the authority to order the government to sack anyone.

No comments: