Tuesday, August 15, 2006

Several police officials interrogated

The High-Level Probe Commission sought explanation Monday from 17 police officials.Those interrogated were one DSP, nine inspectors and seven assistant sub inspectors (ASIs).
They, included DSP Sahakul Thapa, inspectors Bedraj Khanal, Dilli Raj Bista, Pratap Gurung, Dipak Adhikary, Thaman Basnet, Narendra Chand, Dambar Bahadur Chand, Shovit Bahadur Gurung and Keshav Raj Basnet. The ASIs were Bijay Kumar Chaudhary, Rupa Mandal, Krishna Prasad Shrestha, Mohammad Rafik Jolai, Rajendra Prasad Dhamala, Keshar Bahadur Thapa and Nar Bahadur Adhikary.
According to sources at the commission, all of them denied of their involvement in the atrocities during the movement in April and they were only following orders from their superiors.The Commission has called 9 others, including chief of the National Investigation Department Dhan Singh Karki for clarification on Tuesday.
They are Karki, who was the second man of the department, and SSP at the department Basanta Rai, SSP at the Armed Police Force Mahendra Kumar Bhattachan, SP Ranjan Koirala, DSP Balram Pokharel and Sub-Inspectors Subash Khadka, Govinda Giri, Damodar Dhodari and head constables Dil Bahadur Shrestha.

No comments: