Thursday, June 21, 2007

PM appoints members of constitutional council
After five months of the promulgation of the interim constitution, government has finally formed the Constitutional Council.
According to Annapurna Post daily, Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala, who is constitutionally the chairman of the Council, has appointed three ministers to the council.
They include Peace and Reconstruction Minister Ram Chandra Poudel representing Nepali Congress, Information Minister Krishna Bahadur Mahara representing Maoists and Education and Sports Minister Pradip Nepal representing the UML.
According to the interim constitution, Chief Justice, Speaker of the parliament and three ministers appointed by the prime minister would be the members of the council.

No comments: