Thursday, August 30, 2007

CC recommends Kedar Prasad Giri as new SC Chief Justice
The meeting of Constitutional Council Thursday decided to recommend Supreme Court (SC) Justice Kedar Prasad Giri as the new Chief Justice of the SC.
The council recommended Giri for the post as the incumbent Chief Justice Dilip Kumar Paudel is retiring on September7.
Likewise, Kedar Nath Upadhaya has been recommended as the chair of National Human Rights Commission (NHRC), said Speaker Subash Nembang, also a member of the Constitutional Council (CC).
The meeting of the council held today at Prime Minister’s official residence at Baluwatar also decided to recommend names of former Supreme Court justice, Ram Nagina Singh as member of the NHRC while Gauri Pradahan and Lila Pathak and Dr KB Rokaya as the rights activists of the commission.
Earlier, former Supreme Court justice Bishwa Natha Upadaya had declined the government’s proposal to chair the NHRC.
Speaker Nembang also informed that the selected names would be sent to the Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee for approval.However, the meeting of the council has decided to hold another meeting soon to appoint the officials at government offices including Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority, Office of the Auditor General and Public Service Commission among others.
The Constitutional Council headed by Prime Minister includes House Speaker, Chief Justice, Law Minister and other three ministers recommended him.At present, there are five Supreme Court Justices eligible for the post of the Chief Justice, namely Kedar Prasad Giri (senior most), Min Bahadur Rayamajhi, Anup Raj Sharma, Ram Prasad Shrestha and Khil Raj Regmi.

No comments: