Friday, June 16, 2006

Former Justice Aryal to head the interim constitution drafting committee

The government and Maoist rebels have agreed to form a six-member committee led by former Justice of the Supreme Court, Laxman Prasad Aryal, to draft an interim constitution.

A joint statement signed by coordinator of the government negotiating team and Home Minister Krishna P. Sitaula and coordinator of the Maoist negotiating team, Krishna Bahadur Mahara, said the six-member drafting committee has been asked to present its draft to the negotiating team within 15 days.

Other members of the drafting committee include senior advocates Sindhunath Pyakurel and Mahadev Yadav, president of Nepal Bar Association Shambhu Thapa, and advocates Harihar Dahal and Khim Lal Devkota. Pyakurel and Devkota are believed to be close to the CPN (Maoist) while Dahal and Yadav are said to be close to Nepali Congress and Nepali Congress (Democratic) respectively.

The drafting committee will present its draft based on people's rights secured by the people's movement, 12-point understanding between the SPA and the Maoists, and code of conduct signed by the Nepal government and the Maoist rebels, the statement said.

No comments: