Thursday, January 10, 2008

CJ Appoints Two Judges After House Panel Approval

Chief Justice Kedar Prasad Giri today appointed Tahir Ali Ansari and Rajendra Prasad Koirala as permanent Justices of the Supreme Court.The Chief Justice appointed Ansari and Koirala as the Justices of the apex court as per Article 103(1) of Interim Constitution of Nepal, 2007 immediately after the Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee (PHSC) approves their names.Ansari and Koirala have served as ad hoc judges of the apex court in the last two years and recently the Judicial Council had recommended them for permanent postings.Though the PHSC unanimously approved their names, a few MPs expressed serious dissatisfaction over the judges' poor presentation during the hearing, said the Chairing MP Amod Prasad Upadhayaya.

No comments: